Ontario Premier Doug Ford today announced members of his new Cabinet. The new Executive Council has increased by three to 30 members and includes seven women, down from nine, and seven people of colour. The new Executive Council largely resembles Premier Ford’s Cabinet prior to the recent election on June 2, with a few notable exceptions, including the now former Minister of Health, Christine Elliot, who did not seek re-election, and Lisa MacLeod, the now former Minister of Heritage, Sport, Tourism. The ministers responsible for environment and energy portfolios remain the same.

The new Executive Council is as follows:

  • Doug Ford, Premier of Ontario and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones, Deputy Premier and new Minister of Health
  • Peter Bethlenfalvy, Minister of Finance
  • Paul Calandra, Minister of Long-Term Care, Minister of Legislative Affairs and Government House Leader
  • Raymond Cho, Minister for Seniors and Accessibility
  • Steve Clark, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Doug Downey, Attorney General
  • Jill Dunlop, Minister of Colleges and Universities
  • Vic Fedeli, Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade, with an additional mandate for small business
  • Michael Ford, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism
  • Merrilee Fullerton, Minister of Children, Community and Social Services
  • Parm Gill, the new Minister of Red Tape Reduction
  • Michael Kerzner, the new Solicitor General
  • Stephen Lecce, Minister of Education
  • Neil Lumsden, the new Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Monte McNaughton, Minister of Labour, Immigration, Training and Skills Development
  • Caroline Mulroney, Minister of Transportation and Minister of Francophone Affairs
  • David Piccini, Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Graydon Smith, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry
  • George Pirie, Minister of Mines, with a mandate to develop the Ring of Fire
  • Kaleed Rasheed, the new Minister of Public and Business Service Delivery
  • Greg Rickford, Minister of Northern Development and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
  • Prabmeet Sarkaria, President of the Treasury Board, with an expanded mandate for emergency management and procurement, including Supply Ontario
  • Todd Smith, Minister of Energy
  • Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure, with an additional mandate for government real estate
  • Lisa Thompson, Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Stan Cho, Associate Minister of Transportation
  • Michael Parsa, Associate Minister of Housing
  • Michael Tibollo, Associate Minister of Mental Health and Addictions
  • Charmaine Williams, Associate Minister of Women’s Social and Economic Opportunity

Premier Ford has again decided not to publish his mandate letters for the Executive Council. It is likely that priorities for the new Executive Council will follow announcements made in Ontario’s 2022 budget, which is expected to be re-introduced as it was not passed before the recent election.


Write A Comment